Public Relations Matters

Image Credit

What Is Public Relations?

According to the Public Relations Society of America, public relations (PR) is defined as a “strategic communication process that builds mutually beneficial relationships between organizations and their publics,” (PRSA). The keywords within this definition are “builds” and “relationships“. Aside from the professional jargon, PR is truly about forming a lasting relationship between parties.

Although the PRSA definition is the collectively agreed upon definition, I find that it is a great “PR answer”. It answers the begged question of “what is it?”, but it does not necessarily cover all the bases. So, before I continue with my philosophy regarding PR and my thoughts on why it matters, I believe it is important to explore my own definition.

What Is Public Relations… To Me?

Every time I return to my hometown, I brace myself for the inevitable question: “So… what’re you studying at school?” Whether it’s from a neighbor, relative, or family friend, the query always comes, and I’ve grown accustomed to it. While I have always loved answering the question, I have begun to anticipate the follow-up questions. The response of “public relations” will never go as smoothly as responding with subjects such as education, marketing, or music.

Following the “what exactly is public relations?” question comes a sharp inhale before I go into a lengthy explanation the other party was most likely not expecting. I always begin by asking them to imagine a bridge. On one side of the bridge is the client (brand, organization, individual, etc.). This client has a message, a story, or a product in which they are trying to deliver to the other side of the bridge. On the opposite side is the audience, who has their own interests, needs, preferences, and concerns. The PR professional is the architect and the caretaker of this bridge.

However, the bridge it not merely just a static structure, it is a living, ever-evolving and adapting entity. The bridge is built on trust, the foundation for every successful relationship. Trust ensures that it can withstand the test of time and all future challenges. But trust cannot be bought, so the PR professional must earn it and maintain it through every interaction.

Furthermore, the bridge is not merely a method of getting from point A to point B; it is a pathway of connection. Through communication and storytelling, the PR profession can foster meaningful interactions between the client and their audience. Whether it be through social media, events, influencer partnerships, crisis communications, or media coverage, every pillar of the bridge serves to strengthen the bond between the two sides.

And finally, just as a bridge must be nurtured, so does the relationship between the client and the audience. The PR professional is constantly assessing their efforts, making as-needed changes and anticipating future challenges. Through continuous listening (to both sides) and constant communication, the PR professional ensures that the relationship remains strong.

My PR Philosophy

In June of 2018, I began my first job as a waitress at Cracker Barrel. Little did I know, this experience would serve as my initial introduction to the world of public relations. Notably, this was far before I began my college journey and well before I had a clear understanding of the term “public relations.” However, as I approach the culmination of my undergraduate education, I have come to a profound realization: at the heart of public relations lies the essence of customer service. Here are the PR topics I learned as a waitress:

1. The Value of a Mission Statement

In my role as a waitress, I represented the essence of the restaurant I was employed at. Every interaction I engaged in reflected the overall image of the establishment.

A mission statement is any organization’s guidance as it defines the organization’s purpose, values, and objectives. This statement is essential to public relations because it influences decision-making and shapes organizational identity. As stated by Anthony Taylor, a Strategy Management Consultant at SME:

“Within your strategic plan, your mission statement is critical to everything you do as an organization. So your mission, or mission statement, is why you exist, written on paper. Use your mission to guide your people, to guide your strategy, and to guide your decision-making. Ultimately, your mission statement helps you focus on where you need to deliver maximum value and maximum impact.”

What is a Mission & Why is it Important

Within the realm of PR, a mission statement should be embedded within all messaging and strategic endeavors.

My example of this can be found through Cracker Barrel’s mission statement, which centers around “Pleasing People”. From the moment my moment orientation concluded to the last table I waited on in that establishment, my goal was always to please my guests. That guiding principle steered me through every guest interaction and informed every “strategy” I implemented in order to receive a good tip. One of my strategies was to NEVER let a guest’s drink be less than half full. I kept an eye on guests’ glasses at all times. Once I clocked a half full glass, I would immediately retrieved a refill. This earned positive feedback and successful carried out Cracker Barrel’s mission.

An excellent PR example of this concept lies within Patagonia. Their mission statement, “We’re in business to save our home planet” (Patagonia Company History), is highlighted in their PR initiatives to focus on environmental activism and sustainability. This was commitment was witnessed in 2021 when Patagonia shifted its Black Friday messaging and pledged to donate all online and retail profits from the day.

Through these examples, my own and another organization’s, it is clear that integrating a mission statement into PR strategies is indispensable. Action are meant to be aligned with purpose as this allows an organization to cultivate authentic connections with their audience.

2. The Importance of Crisis Management

The ability to manage a crisis serves as the cornerstone of public relations. The power to successfully resolve a conflict not only maintains a positive relationship, but it also mitigates impact, preserves a brand’s reputation, and strengthens trust.

At Cracker Barrel, I was taught an acronym, STARS (not to be confused with the stars on our aprons), to implement when handling a crisis. This acronym stood for:

Sorry – Apologize for the mistake, inconvenience, or trouble.

Thank You – Thank the guest for bringing the issue to our attention.

Action – Let them know how action is being taken regarding the matter.

Recovery – Implement action and aim to recover from the situation.

Share – Invite feedback.

This was my first introduction to what I would later learn to be a crisis management plan. I distinctly remember one of the first times I had to implement this system while taking care of a guest. I was in the midst of my first Sunday morning post-church rush when I saw one of my guests looking around, clearly trying to find someone whose attention they could catch. I walked over and asked if everything was okay, to which they told me their pancakes were cold. I immediately apologized, thanked them for letting me know, and told them I would get them some fresh pancakes. I immediately went back to the kitchen and let the grill cook know I needed pancakes on the fly (a restaurant term meaning the previously-served dish in inedible and a new order needs to be prepared immediately). I promptly returned to the table to let the guest know that the pancakes were on the grill and should ready in a few minutes. And the moment the pancakes were plated, I brought them to the guest, apologized again, and asked if there was anything else I could do for them. Ultimately, my efforts were appreciated by a 20% tip.

Similarly to my Pancakegate situation, KFC ran into their own crisis when supply chain issues resulted in the company having to temporarily close a few restaurants in the UK.

Image Credit

This was followed by the message:

“We’re sorry. A chicken restaurant without any chicken. It’s not ideal. Huge apologies to our customers, especially those who travelled out of their way to find we were closed. And endless thanks to our KFC team members and our franchise partners for working tirelessly to improve the situation. It’s been a hell of a week, but we’re making progress, and every day more and more fresh chicken is being delivered to our restaurants. Thank you for bearing with us.”

KFC Apologizes for Chicken Shortage With Hilarious Hidden Message

In this message, KFC exhibits 4/5 of STARS (Sorry, Thank You, Action, Recovery). Although it was the cheeky, KFC still implemented a crisis management plan and effectively communicated throughout the situation. Ultimately, the apology was well received. Rupert Younger, a PR expect and director of the Oxford University Centre for Corporate Relations, claimed that KFC had done a fantastic job and that he believes that they’re “going to have more people wanting to go to KFC than less as a result of this“.

Both of these examples demonstrate proper communication. Unfortunately, crises are bound to happen, but effective communication has the power to “prevent the threat a crisis may have on the organization’s strategic objectives, reputation, and viability” (The Role of Communication in Effective Crisis Management: A Systematic Literature Reviews).

3. The Art of Relationship Building

As a waitress, I quickly recognized the importance of cultivating meaningful connections with my guests to ensure a positive dining and experience. With most restaurant goers sitting at their table for 1-2 hours, I did not have much time to form and nurture a connection, so I needed to form a method.

When I first started waitressing, I spent a lot of time complaining about my guests to my mom. I told her about the guests who would interrupt me as I was introducing myself, those who would ask for straws (when they were in my pocket) before I even finished handing out drinks, and, in general, all the rude comments I had to smile through. In response, she imparted upon me a piece of wisdom: treat all of your guests like they’re your nana. Admittedly, at first this felt like a threat, but as I began to put her advice into practice, I realized the value to her words and they begun to shape my serving style.

Now, I view myself as more of a friendly professional guiding my guests through their dining experience than just a waitress serving food. The process begins with a warm introduction and a genuine inquiry into what brings them out that evening. This initial exchange serves as the foundation for meaningful conversation, demonstrating my sincere interest in their presence.

Additionally, I always listen to my guests and remember what they tell me, even when it doesn’t pertain to their dining experience. This simple act of attentiveness makes them feel valued and heard which is an essential aspect of fostering a connection.

And finally, I tailor my service to suit the unique needs of each guest. For newcomers, I offer detailed explanations of our menu and fully describe dishes they express interest in. For groups interesting in catching up with each other, I provide a bit more space and take a slower pace, allowing them to enjoy both their meal and their company. This personalized approach highlights my commitment to ensuring the quality of their experience and my willingness to meet them wherever they may be.

Just as in the world of waitressing, the art of relationship building is essential to public relations. Forming and nurturing connections with audiences is vital to achieving organizational goals and maintaining a positive reputation. My mom’s advice–to treat every guest as if they are your nana–can be applied to PR. Emphasize active listening, empathy, respect, and personalized communication.

But… Why Does All of This Matter?

As I reflect on the serving experiences that unknowingly shaped my understanding of PR long before I started studying the concept, I am struck by a profound realization: PR extends far beyond the boundaries of the professional realm. In fact, it is an integral part of our everyday lives as it influencing our interactions, shapes perceptions, and affects relationships in both subtle and monumental ways.

Consider, for instance, the act of crafting a social media post. While seemingly mundane, as we make each choice, we are actively shaping our own personal images and reputations. When writing a caption, we are choosing our words carefully in order to influence how viewers perceive us.

When we navigate conflict, a dispute, or a misunderstanding, we use effective communication as the compass that guides us. We practice empathy, listening, and a willingness to understand.

When engaging in everyday conversation, whether it be with a stranger or a lifelong friend, we employ PR strategies such as messaging, storytelling and persuasion. We are cultivating trust and understanding with the individuals we are communicating with.

As we craft the narratives of our lives, share anecdotes and experiences, and communicate our thoughts and emotions to others, unbeknownst to us, we are shaping perceptions and fostering connections that further enrich our personal lives.

As we approach interactions with authenticity, empathy, and a genuine desire to connect, we are laying the groundwork for meaningful relationships that we aim to maintain over time, just as a PR professional does.

PR matters in a professional sense, because it is deeply woven into the fabric of our day-to-day lives. Within PR, lies our innate urge to enrich the human experience, in ways both big and small, for ourselves and for those around us.

Sources

“About Public Relations.” All About PR, PRSA, http://www.prsa.org/about/all-about-pr.

“Our Company History – Patagonia.” Patagonia Outdoor Clothing & Gear, http://www.patagonia.com/company-history/.

Petroff, Alanna. “KFC Apologizes for Chicken Shortage with a Hilarious Hidden Message.” CNNMoney, Cable News Network, 27 Feb. 2018, money.cnn.com/2018/02/23/news/kfc-apology-ad-shortage-chicken/index.html. 

Rewcastle, Nick. “Patagonia: ‘The Truest Example of Authentic Purpose-Led PR We Have Ever Seen.’” PR Week, PR Week Global, 15 Sept. 2022, http://www.prweek.com/article/1799110/patagonia-the-truest-example-authentic-purpose-led-pr-ever-seen. 

Taylor, Anthony. “What Is a Mission & Why Is It Important?” SME Strategy Strategic Planning Facilitator, SME Strategy Consulting, 14 June 2021, http://www.smestrategy.net/blog/what-is-a-mission-why-is-it-important. 

Zakiri, Ezekiel Luka. “The Role of Communication in Effective Crisis Management: A Systematic Literature Reviews.” International Journal of Humanities and Social Science, vol. 10, no. 6, June 2020, https://www.ijhssnet.com/journals/Vol_10_No_6_June_2020/14.pdf. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started